Garrison implements suicide prevention initiative

KAISERSLAUTERN, Germany -- When you or someone you know demonstrates suicidal ideations, knowing where to turn is critical. That's why the U.S. Army Garrison Rheinland-Pfalz Suicide Prevention Program launched the Suicide First-Aid Station and Keep Safe initiative.

The program kicked off in November and trains suicide prevention gatekeepers and places signs outside of their work locations so people in need of assistance can find them immediately.

"We began the program after realizing how difficult it was to locate the trainees after they finished the courses," said Yancy Chandler, U.S. Army Garrison Rheinland-Pfalz Suicide Prevention Program manager. "As a trainer, I knew what organizations had trained personnel, but I didn't know their exact locations -- and if it was difficult for me to find them, then it may be difficult for those who had thoughts of suicide to find trained caregivers as well."

The initiative supports the garrison commander's primary concern of taking care of Soldiers, civilians and families, Chandler said, and offers additional assistance for community members that may be going through a crisis. By providing this additional layer of support, the garrison can keep community members mission ready and focused on the tasks at hand.

"The role of Suicide First-Aid Stations is to support individuals having suicidal thoughts and create a 'stay-safe-for-now plan' until further help can be provided. To become a Suicide First-Aid Station, individuals must complete the two-day Applied Suicide Intervention Skills Training (ASIST)," Chandler explained. "Keepsafe Connection Sites support individuals with suicidal thoughts and connects them to resources to keep them safe. To become a part of a Keepsafe Connection Site program, individuals must complete the four-hour safeTALK session."